Official Website of the Washington Capitals
Buy Now Google+ Facebook Twitter Pinterest Instagram Tumblr Snapchat Fantasy Challenge

D.C. City Council Declares November 3 ‘Washington Capitals Day’

Tuesday, 11.03.2009 / 2:52 PM / News
Washington Capitals
ARLINGTON, Va. – Washington Capitals chairman and majority owner Ted Leonsis and ownership partners Jack Davies, Raul Fernandez and Michelle D. Freeman accepted a ceremonial resolution from the D.C. City Council on behalf of the team this morning during the council’s legislative meeting in the John A. Wilson Building on Pennsylvania Ave. N.W.
Council Chairman Vincent Gray and Councilmember Jack Evans presented Leonsis and the Capitals with the resolution, which congratulated the team on a terrific regular season and return trip to the Stanley Cup playoffs. The resolution also declared that November 3, 2009, is “Washington Capitals Day” in the District in celebration of the team’s successful season.
Evans read the resolution, which states in part, “The Council of the District of Columbia salutes The Washington Capitals who have helped in the transformation of Chinatown and the Gallery Place neighborhood into an exciting destination for the entire metropolitan area.”
“It is a tremendous honor for our team and the entire Capitals organization to be recognized by the D.C. City Council,” Leonsis said. “We are extremely grateful for the continued support of our fans and the community, and it is most certainly noticed and appreciated by our players, coaching staff and front office. I thank Chairman Gray and Councilmember Evans for the generous Ceremonial Resolution and hope we continue to give them a reason to proclaim another Washington Capitals Day.”
Last season the Capitals enjoyed what could be considered the franchise’s most successful regular season in history, establishing a club record for points (108) and points on the road (47) and tying the club record for wins (50, with the 1985-86 team).
Led by Alex Ovechkin, Nicklas Backstrom, Alexander Semin and Mike Green, the Capitals won their second consecutive Southeast Division and advanced to the second round of the Stanley Cup playoffs for the first time since the 1997-98 season.
For the second year in a row, Ovechkin won the Hart Trophy as the player judged most valuable to his team by the Professional Hockey Writers’ Association, the Lester B. Pearson Award as the most outstanding player as chosen by the members of the NHL Players’ Association and the Maurice “Rocket” Richard Trophy for leading the league in goals (56).
Green became the seventh NHL defenseman to score 30 goals in a season and the first to do so while playing fewer than 70 games. Green also set an NHL record for defensemen with goals in eight straight games and joined Ovechkin on the NHL First All-Star Team. He was a finalist for the Norris Trophy given to the top defenseman in the league.
Note: The complete Ceremonial Resolution to follow
To recognize and honor the Washington Capitals on their stellar regular season and congratulate star left wing Alex Ovechkin as the recipient of the Pearson Award and also the Heart Trophy for the second year in a row.
WHEREAS, the Washington Capitals under the ownership of Ted Leonsis and the coaching of Bruce Boudreau have brought action and excitement to Washington, D.C. and the metropolitan area for the past decade;
WHEREAS, the Washington Capitals have helped in the transformation of Chinatown and the Gallery Place neighborhood into an exciting destination for the entire metropolitan area;
WHEREAS, the Washington Capitals’ outstanding regular season was acknowledged at the National Hockey League (NHL) Awards ceremony this year in Las Vegas, Nevada;
WHEREAS, Alex Ovechkin, Capitals left wing, won the Hart Trophy for the second year in a row designating him as the NHL’s most valuable player;
WHEREAS, only ten other men have won the Hart Trophy in back-to-back seasons and Alex Ovechkin is the third-youngest to do so;
WHEREAS, Capitals’ Mike Green was a finalist for the Norris Trophy - awarded to the NHL’s best defenseman and finished the season with 31 goals, most by any NHL defenseman since 1993 despite playing in just 68 games;
WHEREAS, Alex Ovechkin also won the Lester B. Pearson Award, voted on annually by the NHL players themselves and awarded to the player they judge as league’s most outstanding.  He is the first player since 1999 and 2000 to win that award in back-to-back seasons;
WHEREAS, Ovechkin finished the season with 56 goals and 54 assists and also won the Maurice “Rocket” Richard Trophy for the second year in a row.  That award goes to the NHL player who leads the league in goals scored and was named first-team All-NHL for the fourth year in a row;
WHEREAS, the Washington Capitals contribute to the good of the community through the Washington Capitals Charities and a variety of fundraising efforts and donations;
WHEREAS, Washington, D.C. and the entire metropolitan area looks forward to “rocking the red”, supporting and routing for the Washington Capitals for many years to come;
RESOLVED BY THE COUNCIL OF THE DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA, That this resolution may be cited as the “Washington Capitals’ 2008-2009 Season Celebration Recognition Resolution of 2009".
Sec. 2.  The Council of the District of Columbia salutes the Washington Capitals for its spirit, its countless achievements in advancing sporting excellence in Washington, D.C. and recognizes and congratulates Alex Ovechkin, Mike Green and all of the Washington Capitals on their individual achievements during this stellar season.
Sec. 3.  The Council of the District of Columbia declares November 3rd as “Washington Capitals Day” in the District of Columbia in celebration of the Washington Capitals winning season.
Sec. 4.  This resolution shall take effect immediately upon the first date of publication in the District of Columbia Register.
Poll Header