Sign Up Now Monumental Sports Network 1617 Full Season Deposits 1617 Partial Plans On Sale 1617 Premium Packs On Sale 1617 Group Packages On Sale
  • RSS

Professional Hockey Writers’ Association honors club as best in Eastern Conference

Friday, 06.25.2010 / 8:32 PM ET / News
Share with your Friends

Professional Hockey Writers\u2019 Association honors club as best in Eastern Conference
ARLINGTON, Va. – The Washington Capitals media relations staff is the 2009-10 recipient of the Dick Dillman Award for the NHL’s Eastern Conference, given annually to the team judged to be the best in media relations by the members of the Professional Hockey Writers’ Association (PHWA). The PHWA made the announcement this evening in Los Angeles, in conjunction with the 2010 NHL Entry Draft.
It is the fourth straight Dick Dillman Award for the Capitals. The San Jose Sharks won the award for the Western Conference.
The Dillman Award honors the late Dick Dillman, a highly respected media relations guru for the Minnesota North Stars. Members of the PHWA are eligible to vote on the award, and voters are asked to consider multiple factors, including fairness, cooperation, efficiency, accuracy and presentation of media notes, quality of media guide and willingness to help facilitate interviews.
The Capitals’ media relations staff, overseen by vice president of communications Kurt Kehl, includes Nate Ewell, Paul Rovnak, Kelly Murray and Jeff Weinstein, as well as a number of game-night staffers.